Birtukan Midekssa

    Board Chairperson

    Birtukan Midekssa, the Chairperson of the National Election Board of Ethiopia, was born in Addis Ababa in 1974. After receiving her first degree in law from Addis Ababa University, she worked as a judge in the federal court. She later left the justice sector due to the government executive body’s interference in the judiciary system.

  • At_Woubshet_Ayele
    Woubshet Ayele Deputy Board Chairperson
    Wubshet Ayele was born in Addis Ababa in 1955. He studied law and received his first degree from Addis Ababa University in 1988. After completing higher education, he worked as a legal advisor at the Ministry of Justice and at other offices.
  • Ato_Aberra_Degefa
    Aberra Degefa (PhD) Board Member
    Aberra Degefa (PhD) is a law professor at Addis Ababa University. He earned his first and second degrees in Law from Addis Ababa University, and earned his doctorate in Social Work and Social Development.
  • Mss_Bizuwork_Ketete
    Bizuwork Ketete Board Member
    Born in 1960, Bizuwork Ketete received her high school degree in Greece, and her university degree in Linguistics from the Department of Foreign Languages at the University of Cuba, Havana.
  • ato_Fikre_Gebrehiwot
    Fikre Gebrehiwot Board Member
    Fikre Gebrehiwot is one of the board members. Fikre has earned a bachelor’s degree In Law and History from Addis Ababa University and a master’s degree in Development Study and Project Management.