It is known that the National Electoral Board of Ethiopia (NEBE) has been making various preparations for the 6th General Election. On May 15, 2021, the Board held a consultation with political parties and announced that the Election Day is re-scheduled from the previously set June 5 and June 12, 2021, and that it would take 2-3 weeks for further preparation.

Accordingly, the following major activities will be performed in the additional days.

1. Completing the recruitment of additional election officials

In addition to the current 138,655 election officials, the Board should recruit and train 106,345 poll station workers. There are additional 100,333 people on the Board's waiting list. In addition to these, election polling station workers are held on standby by the Board, and the Board will complete the vetting process and prepare for the polling day. It specifically seeks to fill the gaps in the number of executives in regions.

2. Training

The National Electoral Board will train all election officials for Election Day. These trainings include

  1. Training of lead trainers - 20 people at the head office level
  2. Training of main trainers - 220 people at the head office level
  3. Training of field trainers - 2,200 people in 20 towns
  4. Training of constituency workers and zonal coordinators - 3,781 people in 20 towns
  5. Training of polling station election officials - 245,000 (in four rounds/levels).

Topics to be covered in this four-part training

- Election Day preparation

- Counting and announcing of results at polling station level

- Scoring, administering, and publicizing results at the constituency level. This step-by-step training takes about 23 days.

3. Material Packing and Distribution (Training and Election Day)

Packing and distribution of training materials takes a total of four days. Ballot paper printing will be completed after 10 days, and then there is the ballot paper, forms, and other purchased election materials distribution and packing in constituencies takes four weeks to complete after ballot paper printing is completed. In addition to this, the board has developed a transportation plan, and based on voter registration experience, it requires a great deal of cooperation from federal institutions, state governments, and others. This operation will be carried out using the full power of the Board.

Accordingly, the 6th general election will be held on June 21, 2021. However, there are constituencies and polling stations where the voting process cannot take place for various reasons

  1. Where voter registration has not yet begun, due to security concerns
  2. Areas where voter registration has begun and been terminated
  3. The Board identified constituencies where voting could not take place on June 21, 2021 where there are complaints in the process of voter registration or areas where the Board has decided to investigate due to significant irregularities in the voter registration process and for various reasons (like security and voter registration complaints). They are the following constituencies.

Benishangul Gumuz (four constituencies)

Areas where voter registration has not yet begun

  1. Metekel Constituency
  2. Shinasha Constituency
  3. Kamash Constituency
  4. Dalit Constituency

Somali Region (14 constituencies)

Complaints filed during the voter registration process, and decision depending on the screening process

  1. Arabi Constituency
  2. Deghamedo Constituency
  3. Gode Constituency
  4. Jijiga 1 Constituency
  5. Jijiga 2 Constituency
  6. Kebri Dahar Constituency
  7. Kelafo Constituency
  8. Warder Constituency
  9. Fiq Constituency
  10. Gladin Constituency
  11. Degehabur Constituency

Where voter registration process has been interrupted by the regional government

  1. Aisha Constituency
  2. Erer Constituency
  3. Shinley Constituency

Oromia Region (seven constituencies)

Voter registration not started (due to security problem)

  1. Begi Constituency - West Welega
  2. Monday Market - West Welega
  3. Ayana Constituency - East Welega
  4. Galilee Constituency - East Wolga
  5. Alibbo Constituency - Horo Gudru
  6. Gida Constituency - Horo Gudru
  7. Kombolcha Constituency - Horo Gudru

Amhara Region (eight constituencies)

Voter registration not started (due to security problem)

  1. Majoye (Makoi) Constituency
  2. Argoba Special Constituency
  3. Shewarobit Constituency
  4. Ephesus Constituency
  5. Chilga 1 Constituency
  6. Chilga 2 Constituency
  7. Armachiho Constituency
  8. Diliza Constituency

Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples' Region (four constituencies)

Voter registration not started (due to security problem)

  1. Eternal constituency
  2. Surma Special Constituency
  3. Dizi Special Constituency
  4. Morsi Special Constituency

Harari Region (three constituencies)

Voter registration highly inaccurate and case being reviewed in the court

  1. Jegol Constituency
  2. Jegol Regular Constituency
  3. Jegol Area and Hundene Constituency

Special Announcement

In the Dima and the Akobo constituencies, there is a high level of infrastructure and transportation problem, which requires special assistance from the state and federal governments.

The National Electoral Board of Ethiopia

May 22, 2021